by ZendeskTechBag Intel Page

Zendesk QA

Your reviewers read a handful of tickets per agent each month. The conversation that loses a customer is rarely in the sample — Zendesk QA scores support conversations automatically — tickets, calls and AI-agent replies — and Spotlight flags churn risk and escalations so team leads coach from evidence.

Every conversation scored, AI agents tooUS$35 per agent a month add-onNo India hosting region

Buy through TechBag

Same software. Better outcome — at a lower cost.

Right-fit discoveryBest price & discountsImplementation & rolloutRenewals & licence mgmtTier-1 support desk
Book a discovery call →

Free · 15 minutes

Trusted by 500+ enterprises across India

How it’s rated

Full scoreboard ↓
Pricing
List price on annual billing as an add-on; US$50 when bundled with Zendesk WFM
$35/agent/mo
Coverage
Zendesk’s own figure for AutoQA, covering voice and AI-agent conversations too
100% (claim)
Hosting
Runs on GCP and may sit outside the regions Zendesk’s data-location add-on commits to
Google Cloud
India
No Indian hosting option and no rupee invoices; offices in Bengaluru and Pune only
No region

Quick answer

Zendesk QA, formerly Klaus, is Zendesk’s quality-assurance add-on: AutoQA scores every support conversation, by Zendesk’s account including voice calls and AI-agent replies, and Spotlight flags churn risk and escalations for coaching. It lists at US$35 per agent a month on annual billing, or US$50 bundled with Zendesk WFM. It runs on Google Cloud outside Zendesk’s data-location commitment, with no India region and no INR billing. Read more ↓ Show less ↑
Part 01 · Orient

The Zendesk platform family

This page covers Zendesk QA — the quality-assurance add-on, formerly Klaus. The rest:

Quick facts

30-second orientation
Product
Automated quality assurance for support conversations: AutoQA, Spotlight, scorecards and coaching
Maker
Zendesk, Inc., San Francisco; private since November 2022 under Hellman & Friedman and Permira; CEO Tom Eggemeier
Origin
Built on Klaus, which Zendesk agreed to buy in January 2024 and took over in February 2024
Price
US$35 per agent a month on annual billing; US$50 with Zendesk WFM in the Workforce Engagement Bundle
Licence
An add-on to every Suite and Support plan, also offered on the Employee Service pricing tab
Coverage
AutoQA scores 100% of interactions, Zendesk says, voice and AI-agent conversations included
Other help desks
Intercom and others, up to 50 connections, syncing every 4–6 hours per Zendesk’s help centre
Hosting
Google Cloud; Zendesk says QA may not be hostable in the regions its data-location add-on offers
India
No India data region and no INR billing; Bengaluru and Pune are Zendesk offices, not data centres
In India via
TechBag — scorecard design, a one-team pilot, and the quote itemised in INR with GST
Part 02 · Learn

Understand support QA before you buy it

Most product pages skip this. We start here — so you buy a capability, not a buzzword.

What is automated support QA?

Software scores every conversation against your scorecard, so quality is measured on the whole queue, not a sample.

Hand-sampled ticket reviews vs Zendesk QA — the honest table

What consolidation actually replaces, dimension by dimension.

DimensionHand-sampled ticket reviewsZendesk QA
Conversations reviewedA few tickets per agent, picked by handEvery interaction, by Zendesk’s account
Finding the bad onesLuck, or a customer complaintSpotlight flags churn risk and escalations
Checking the botResolution counts and nothing elseAI-agent conversations scored like human ones
Phone supportRecordings nobody has time to hearVoice interactions run through AutoQA
Where scores liveA spreadsheet per reviewerQA dashboards, plus Quality Score in the Suite
What it is NOT—Live call monitoring, or hosted in India

The cheapest test is one queue: run AutoQA on a team’s last month of tickets and compare it with your best reviewer’s scores.

Under the hood

The five pieces of the platform

Vendors love diagrams; buyers need to know what they’re actually operating. Here’s the whole platform, demystified.

01
Where conversations come from

Connections

Help-desk connections

Zendesk tickets feed QA natively; other help desks such as Intercom connect too, up to 50 connections, with tickets syncing every 4–6 hours by Zendesk’s help-centre account.

02
How every conversation gets a score

AutoQA

AutoQA scoring engine

AutoQA grades conversations against your scorecard instead of a reviewer’s sample; Zendesk says it reaches 100% of interactions, phone calls and AI-agent replies included.

03
What needs a human look

Spotlight

Spotlight and dashboards

Spotlight lifts out conversations that show churn risk or an escalation, and QA dashboards track how human and AI agents score, so reviewers start where the risk is.

04
Where QA data lives

Hosting

Google Cloud hosting

Unlike the core Zendesk Suite on AWS, QA runs on Google Cloud, and Zendesk says it may not be hostable in the regions its data-location add-on offers; India is not one of them.

Help desks feed one scoring engine — AutoQA grades every conversation, Spotlight lifts the risky ones for coaching.

Part 03 · Evaluate

Six capabilities. Score, surface, coach.

Zendesk QA replaces sampled ticket reviews with automatic scoring of every conversation, human or AI.

Score
AutoQA

Every conversation graded

AutoQA scores 100% of interactions, by Zendesk’s count, so the quality figure no longer rests on a few hand-picked tickets.

Score
Voice

Calls inside the programme

Voice interactions go through AutoQA as well as tickets and chats, so a phone team is no longer left outside quality review.

Surface
Spotlight

Risky threads pulled forward

Spotlight flags conversations that show churn risk or an escalation, handing reviewers a short list instead of a random draw.

Surface
AI-agent QA

Bots on the same scorecard

AI-agent replies are judged with QA scorecards, spotlights and dashboards, a workflow Zendesk demonstrated in February 2026.

Coach
Coaching

Scores become coaching

QA results feed coaching for human agents, so a weak score turns into a talk with a team lead rather than a row in a sheet.

Coach
Quality Score

A quality signal in the Suite

At Relate 2026 Zendesk brought Quality Score to Suite Professional and higher plans, so quality shows up inside the Suite itself.

See it, don’t just read it

Watch Zendesk QA in action

AI-agent evaluation with scorecards and spotlights, the AutoQA engine, and an overview of Zendesk QA, all from Zendesk’s official channel.

Zendesk (official)·What’s New, February 2026

Evaluate AI agents using Zendesk QA scorecards, spotlights, and dashboards | What’s New

How QA scorecards, spotlights and dashboards are applied to conversations that AI agents handled.

Zendesk (official)·Explainer, August 2024

Zendesk QA AutoQA: AI-powered quality assurance

AutoQA, the engine that scores conversations automatically in place of a reviewer’s sample.

Zendesk (official)·Overview, May 2024

Learn more about Zendesk QA (quality assurance)

An overview of Zendesk QA, released a few months after the Klaus deal closed.

Want a live, India-context walkthrough for your environment?

Book a guided demo →
Why Zendesk QA

Most support teams score a sliver of their conversations. Zendesk QA scores the rest, bots included.

Here’s what genuinely sets it apart — and exactly where it stops.

01

Quality measured on everything, not a sample

Most support QA still means a reviewer reading a few tickets per agent each month. Zendesk says AutoQA scores 100% of interactions, phone calls and AI-agent replies included, so the quality number describes the whole queue. Spotlight then narrows the human work to conversations showing churn risk or an escalation.

02

AI agents get reviewed like people

Zendesk bills its AI agents per automated resolution, so someone has to check what those agents actually told customers. Zendesk QA applies scorecards, spotlights and dashboards to AI-agent conversations, shown in February 2026, so a bot that closes tickets without solving them is caught before the complaints arrive.

03

Not tied to the Zendesk help desk

Zendesk QA started life as Klaus, an independent tool, and still reads from other help desks: Intercom and others, up to 50 connections, according to Zendesk’s help centre. Those tickets arrive every 4–6 hours, which suits review and coaching cycles. It is a US$35 add-on, or US$50 with WFM.

04

Where it stops

QA runs on Google Cloud, and Zendesk says it may not be hostable in the regions its data-location add-on covers; there is no India region either way, and invoices come in USD, EUR, GBP or BRL. Non-Zendesk tickets lag by hours. The product page says “Contact Sales”, and no Indian QA customer is named.

The idea
Every conversation scored, bots included
The residency
Google Cloud; no India region
The price
US$35 per agent a month, as an add-on
Proof, not promises

The numbers behind the platform

100%
of interactions AutoQA scores, by Zendesk’s account, with voice and AI agents included
— Vendor
US$35
per agent a month on annual billing for the Zendesk QA add-on on its own
— Vendor
US$50
per agent a month for the Workforce Engagement Bundle of QA plus Zendesk WFM
— Vendor
50 connections
the help-desk connection ceiling Zendesk’s help centre gives for QA
— Vendor
6 hours
the outer end of the 4–6 hour sync cycle for tickets from non-Zendesk help desks
— Vendor
2024
the year Zendesk closed the Klaus deal, in February, and began selling it as Zendesk QA
— Vendor

What your Zendesk QA rollout looks like

Week 1Model

Rewrite the scorecard

Turn the spreadsheet rubric your reviewers use today into scorecard categories AutoQA can grade, and agree the pass marks.

Week 2Decide

Connect the help desks

Link Zendesk and any other help desk such as Intercom, allowing for the 4–6 hour sync before judging what QA can see.

Week 3Pilot

Pilot on one team

Run AutoQA on one team’s queue, compare its scores with your best reviewer’s on the same tickets, and tune the categories.

Month 2Prove

Add voice and AI agents

Bring phone interactions and AI-agent conversations into scoring, and point Spotlight’s churn-risk threads at team leads.

Month 3Commit

Coach from the scores

Move team leads from random review to Spotlight lists and score-led coaching, then decide whether WFM joins via the bundle.

Verified reviews

The review scoreboard

Modelled on Gartner Peer Insights structure. *Counts and breakdowns are illustrative pending verified review collection.

4.2
48+ reviews*
82% would recommend
AutoQA scoring4.2
Spotlight and triage4.3
Ease of setup4.1
Non-Zendesk help desks3.7
Value for money3.9
5★
45%
4★
35%
3★
13%
2★
5%
1★
2%

Quick poll — what’s driving your evaluation?

Talk to an advisor
E-commerce
“We used to review four tickets per agent a month. AutoQA now scores the whole queue, and reviewers start from Spotlight.”
Head of Support Quality
E-commerce
Fintech
“Our chatbot looked fine on resolution counts. Scoring its conversations in QA showed it closing tickets it never solved.”
CX Operations Manager
Fintech
SaaS
“We run support on Intercom, not Zendesk, and QA still works; just expect a few hours before new tickets show up.”
Support Team Lead
SaaS
Travel
“Spotlight surfaced the angry-customer threads we used to find only after a cancellation. Coaching got far more specific.”
Customer Experience Lead
Travel
Insurance
“Security asked where QA data sits. It is Google Cloud, outside the region setting we had chosen for the Suite.”
IT Security Manager
Insurance
BPO
“Taking QA and WFM together in one bundle was easier to defend in our budget review than two separate add-on lines.”
Contact Centre Manager
BPO
The market maps

Where everyone sits — the grids

Analyst firms bury this view behind paywalls, and G2 retired its Grid. So here’s TechBag’s synthesis of the support quality assurance market — tap any vendor to see why it sits where it does.

Grid 01 · The market

TechBag Support QA Grid

Execution strength vs product vision — the classic market map, minus the paywall.

ChallengersLeadersSpecialistsVisionaries
Zendesk QAThis page

US$35 add-on; ex-Klaus, part of Zendesk since February 2024.

Grid 02 · The architecture

Integration Reach × Scoring Depth

The grid nobody publishes — how many help desks and contact-centre systems it reads from vs how much of the scoring AI does.

Deep scorers, narrow reachOpen AI scorersSampling-era toolsConnectors without depth
Zendesk QAThis page

Zendesk native plus up to 50 other help-desk connections.

Positions are TechBag’s illustrative synthesis of public review-platform data and vendor documentation — not a reproduction of any analyst graphic. Verify before relying on it.

Part 04 · Decide

Zendesk QA vs the support QA field

Set beside NICE Playvox, Rippit (formerly MaestroQA), Observe.AI, Level AI and Calabrio — on channels scored, AI depth, price, integrations, security and India.

DimensionZendesk QANICE Playvox Quality ManagementRippit (formerly MaestroQA)Observe.AI Auto QALevel AI Quality AssuranceCalabrio QM Intelligence
What it isQA add-on, ex-KlausQM and coaching suiteConversation-data agentsContact-centre AI suiteQA inside a CX AI suiteAuto QA in Calabrio ONE
DeploymentSaaS on Google CloudCloud applicationSaaS on AWSCloud platformSaaS on Google CloudFits an existing stack
Channels scoredText, voice, AI agentsChat, email, phoneEvery conversationVoice and chatCalls, chat, email, botsVoice and digital
AI scoring depthAutoQA + SpotlightSampled, auto-assignedPlain-language agentsRule builder, auto-fillQA-GPT, hybrid cards95–99% accuracy claim
Human review and coachingCoaching from QACalibration, disputesCoaching agentsDisputes and coachingCalibration and disputesCoaching workflows
Pricing modelPer agent, monthlyQuotePlans + at-cost creditsQuoteQuoteQuote
Published entry priceUS$35/agent/monthNot publishedFree; Starter $185/moNot publishedNot publishedNot published
Included vs add-onAdd-on; $50 with WFMModule of a suiteAll plans score 100%One of several agentsPart of the platformModule of Calabrio ONE
Scale and limits50 links, 4–6 h syncGoals by period1,000 to 1M+ chats350+ enterprisesNo limits published1.8M assessments cited
IntegrationsZendesk + other desksCRM/CCaaS connectorsIntercom, Zendesk, Gong250+ integrations40+ integrationsAny CCaaS, by claim
Security attestationsAsk for QA’s reportsNot statedSOC 2, ISO 27001/42001SOC 2 II, PCI DSS L1ISO, SOC 2, HITRUSTNot stated
India data regionNo India regionNot publishedUS or EU onlyBangalore officeRegion not publishedNot published
Lock-in and exitOther desks allowedReads your stackHistory carried overOpen APIs, MCPErased within 30 daysOwnership changed
Best fitZendesk-first teamsWEM buyers on NICEPrice-first pilotsVoice-heavy centresCompliance-led centresVerint and WFM estates
● Strong◐ Partial / add-on○ Weak / externalCompiled from public vendor materials and review platforms for orientation; verify before relying on it.

Which approach fits you?

Honest fit signals — because the fastest way to lose your trust is to pretend one product wins every scenario.

Choose Zendesk QA if…

  • ✓Your support runs on Zendesk and you want every ticket, call and AI-agent conversation scored without adding another vendor
  • ✓You are rolling out Zendesk AI agents and need to review what they tell customers, not just count their resolutions
  • ✓You also want scheduling, and taking QA with Zendesk WFM in the US$50 Workforce Engagement Bundle fits your budget

Compare alternatives if…

  • ✓You want a price you can read before a sales call — Rippit lists Free, $185 and $495 monthly plans
  • ✓Your contact centre is voice-first on a CCaaS such as Amazon Connect or Five9 — Observe.AI and Level AI connect there
  • ✓You need a published security pack for the QA tool itself — Level AI and Rippit list ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type II

Do not expect…

  • ✓QA data held in India, or covered by the Data Center Location add-on you set for the Suite
  • ✓Live scoring of tickets from other help desks — they reach QA on a 4–6 hour sync
  • ✓A rupee invoice for the QA add-on; Zendesk bills it in USD, EUR, GBP or BRL

TechBag has no support quality assurance guide yet, so Zendesk QA sits outside the category guides. Browse all products to compare it with the rest of the catalogue. →

Do the math

What does sampling conversations by hand cost you?

Drag the sliders (support agents in the QA programme; reviewer-hour cost). Estimates model reviewer time spent picking, reading and scoring sampled conversations at an assumed 1.5 hours per agent a year, with 70% of it removed by automatic scoring. Both figures are assumptions. Illustrative.

300
2510,000
₹800
₹300₹2,000

Loaded cost = salary + overheads per productive hour. Illustrative only — your TechBag quote models your actual environment and modules.

Current annual manual QA review cost
₹3,60,000
Estimated annual savings
₹2,52,000
≈ ₹12,60,000 over 5 years
Turn this into a real quote →
Pricing & plans

Three ways to consume it

Published: Zendesk QA is an add-on at US$35 per agent a month on annual billing, available on every Suite and Support plan; with Zendesk WFM it is US$50 per agent a month in the Workforce Engagement Bundle. Zendesk bills in USD, EUR, GBP or BRL, not INR. TechBag pilots it on one team first, then quotes in INR with GST.

Zendesk QA add-on

Best for a quality programme on its own

  • US$35 per agent a month, billed annually
  • AutoQA, Spotlight and coaching
  • Added to any Suite or Support plan

+ Platform add-ons

Best for a broader rollout

  • Scoped to your estate
  • Add-on modules as needed
  • Phased, right-sized deployment

Workforce Engagement Bundle

Best when scheduling hurts too

  • US$50 per agent a month, billed annually
  • Zendesk QA plus Zendesk WFM
  • One add-on line instead of two

Buy it for less — TechBag pricing beats list

Whatever the list prices above, TechBag negotiates a significantly better deal — with GST-compliant INR invoicing and local support. Ask us for your discounted quote.

Get a discounted quote →

Get an India-ready quote

Tell us your requirements and current tools — we’ll model it against what you spend today.

Get Quote
Evaluation kit

The 8 questions to ask every vendor

Take this into your next vendor call — including ours.

1
Help desks

Which help desks hold your conversations — Zendesk alone, or Intercom and others that sync every 4–6 hours?

2
Scorecard

Can your current rubric be written as categories AutoQA scores, and who will own keeping it calibrated?

3
Voice

Do your calls run through Zendesk, and will those voice interactions reach QA the way tickets do?

4
AI agents

Are AI agents answering customers today, and who reviews their conversations before you scale them up?

5
Data location

Can your policy accept QA data on Google Cloud, outside Zendesk’s data-location add-on and outside India?

6
Plan

Which Suite or Support plan are you on? Quality Score inside the Suite needs Professional or above.

7
Bundle

Will you add Zendesk WFM too? The US$50 bundle covers both; QA alone is US$35 per agent a month.

8
Licence

How many agents will QA cover, and on what term? Ask for the quote itemised in INR with GST and renewal terms.

FAQ

Questions buyers ask

Zendesk QA is Zendesk’s quality-assurance product for support teams. Its AutoQA engine scores conversations automatically — Zendesk says 100% of interactions, voice calls and AI-agent replies included — and Spotlight picks out the ones showing churn risk or escalations, so team leads coach from evidence rather than a random sample.

Ready to evaluate Zendesk QA?

Score a week of one team’s conversations first, or let a TechBag advisor turn your current rubric into a scorecard and run the pilot.

Stats, ratings, review counts and pricing are illustrative and sourced from public materials; verify before purchase.