Your people sit in one HR tool, payroll in another and reviews in a third. Every change gets typed in three times — SAP SuccessFactors puts every employee on one Employee Central record, then sells payroll, hiring, learning, reviews and pay planning as separate modules you add one at a time.
Buy through TechBag
Same software. Better outcome — at a lower cost.
How it’s rated
Full scoreboard ↓Quick answer
This page covers SAP SuccessFactors — the HCM suite and its separately licensed modules. The rest:
Most product pages skip this. We start here — so you buy a capability, not a buzzword.
One core employee record, with payroll, hiring, learning and reviews sold as separate modules that read from it.
What consolidation actually replaces, dimension by dimension.
| Dimension | An HR tool per job, records re-keyed | SAP SuccessFactors |
|---|---|---|
| Where an employee lives | A different copy in each HR tool | One Employee Central record every module reads |
| How you buy | One bundle, used or not | Module by module, starting with the core |
| Hiring | A separate ATS and a CSV import | SmartRecruiters for SAP SuccessFactors |
| Review season | Managers facing a blank form | A Performance & Goals AI agent to draft |
| HR data to finance | Spreadsheets mailed each month | A record SAP ERP estates can read |
| What it is NOT | — | A price list, or proof of Indian payroll |
The cheapest test is a payroll proof: run last month’s Indian payroll through a demo and compare PF, ESI, PT and TDS line by line.
Vendors love diagrams; buyers need to know what they’re actually operating. Here’s the whole platform, demystified.
Employee Central holds the person, position and organisation records that every other module reads, so it is usually the first SuccessFactors licence a business signs for.
Time Tracking records attendance and absence; Employee Central Payroll, a separate licence SAP pitches at firms of 1,000+ staff, calculates pay from the core record.
SmartRecruiters for SAP SuccessFactors handles hiring; Onboarding, Learning, Performance & Goals and Compensation then follow the employee, each licensed on its own.
Work Zone gives employees one entry page, Joule answers inside the suite and alongside Microsoft 365 Copilot, and the 2H 2025 release added a Performance & Goals agent.
One Employee Central record at the core — payroll, talent, learning and time licensed as modules that all read from it.
SAP SuccessFactors keeps one employee record and licenses every HR module on top of it.
People, positions and org units live in Employee Central, the core HRIS that SAP’s other HR modules and SAP finance read from.
Onboarding is its own module: new-hire tasks and paperwork start from the Employee Central record instead of a spreadsheet.
SAP SuccessFactors Enterprise Service Management gives employees an HR ticket desk that sits on the same people data.
Hiring runs on SmartRecruiters for SAP SuccessFactors, the applicant-tracking system SAP bought outright in September 2025.
SAP sells Learning standalone or as part of the HCM suite, so training can go live before the rest of the estate moves.
Performance & Goals tracks objectives and reviews; its AI agent arrived in the 2H 2025 release to help managers draft and track.
Employee Central Payroll is SAP’s flagship cloud payroll, aimed at midsize and large employers with more than 1,000 people.
Time Tracking captures attendance and absence in the suite, so recorded hours reach payroll without a separate import.
The Compensation module runs salary and bonus cycles against budgets, then hands approved changes back to the core record.
A tour of the suite, the Performance & Goals AI agent from the 2H 2025 release, and Joule working alongside Microsoft 365 Copilot.
SAP’s own tour of the suite, from the core HR record through talent, learning and pay.
The agent that arrived in the 2H 2025 release, shown inside a goals and review cycle.
Joule answering HR requests in the suite and working alongside Microsoft 365 Copilot.
Want a live, India-context walkthrough for your environment?
Book a guided demo →Here’s what genuinely sets it apart — and exactly where it stops.
Employee Central is the HR master; payroll, onboarding, learning, performance, compensation, time and recruiting are separate licences that read from it. You can start with the core, or with Learning on its own, and add modules as each one earns its place, rather than paying for a whole suite on day one.
Gartner placed SAP as a Leader in its Magic Quadrant for HCM Suites for 1,000+ Employees for the 11th consecutive time on 4 September 2026, after a Leader placement in the 2025 cloud HCM edition. Indian users include ITC Limited, which runs SuccessFactors beside SAP’s ERP, its technology platform and SAP Business AI.
For a business already running SAP Cloud ERP or SAP Cloud ERP Private, SuccessFactors is the HR source the rest of the SAP estate expects. Joule, SAP’s assistant, works inside the suite and alongside Microsoft 365 Copilot, and the 2H 2025 release added an AI agent for Performance & Goals.
There is no price list: every module is quoted, and the bill grows with each one. SAP aims its cloud payroll at 1,000+ employee firms and its catalogue does not spell out Indian statutory items, so prove PF, ESI, PT and TDS in a parallel run. India hosting was announced in 2023; get your tenant’s location in the contract.
List the HR jobs that hurt most — records, pay, hiring, reviews — then price Employee Central and only the modules that fix them.
Push last month’s payroll through Employee Central Payroll in a demo: PF, ESI, state PT and TDS, checked line by line.
Move employees, positions and org units into Employee Central, and write India hosting of the tenant into the contract.
Pay one cycle in the old system and in SuccessFactors side by side; reconcile every rupee before the old run is switched off.
Turn on Performance & Goals, Learning or SmartRecruiters one at a time, and switch Joule on once the core data is clean.
Modelled on Gartner Peer Insights structure. *Counts and breakdowns are illustrative pending verified review collection.
“Our plants in four countries finally share one Employee Central record, so a transfer no longer means re-keying the person twice.”
“We bought Learning first, on its own, for compliance training. Employee Central followed a year later once the budget allowed.”
“Finance already ran on SAP, so cost centres and positions lined up from the start instead of through a nightly file.”
“The goals agent drafts a sensible first pass of review comments; managers still rewrite half of it, but nobody starts blank.”
“Ask how each module is counted. Our quote listed Recruiting, Compensation and Payroll separately and the total surprised finance.”
“Indian payroll needed two parallel runs before PT and TDS matched our old system to the rupee. Plan for that time.”
Analyst firms bury this view behind paywalls, and G2 retired its Grid. So here’s TechBag’s synthesis of the HCM suite market — tap any vendor to see why it sits where it does.
Execution strength vs product vision — the classic market map, minus the paywall.
Quoted module by module; Gartner HCM Leader, 11th time (2026).
The grid nobody publishes — how well Indian payroll and India data storage are covered vs how many HR modules the suite spans.
Widest module set; India hosting announced 2023, payroll to prove.
Positions are TechBag’s illustrative synthesis of public review-platform data and vendor documentation — not a reproduction of any analyst graphic. Verify before relying on it.
Against Workday HCM, Oracle Fusion Cloud HCM, Darwinbox, Keka HR and Zoho People — on modules, licensing, price, Indian payroll, AI and India data storage.
| Dimension | SAP SuccessFactors | Workday HCM | Oracle Fusion Cloud HCM | Darwinbox | Keka HR | Zoho People |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| What it is | Modular cloud HCM suite | Unified cloud HCM | HCM in Fusion apps | India-built HCM | India-built HRMS | Zoho’s cloud HRMS |
| Deployment | SaaS, run by SAP | SaaS only | Oracle-run SaaS | SaaS, plus Slack app | Cloud, with mobile app | Cloud, Zoho suite |
| Modules covered | Core HR to learning | HCM, recruiting, pay | Core HR to payroll | Core, payroll, talent | HR, payroll, PMS, ATS | HR; payroll separate |
| Pricing model | Per module, quoted | Negotiated subscription | Quoted subscriptions | Quote by module mix | Plan plus headcount | Per employee, INR |
| Published entry price | Not printed here | Not published | Not published | Not published | About ₹9,999/month | About ₹50/employee |
| Included vs add-on | Every module separate | Payroll by country | Services sold apart | Bundle depth varies | Three tiered plans | Payroll costs extra |
| Scale and target size | 1,000+ employees | Large multinationals | Large, multi-country | Large Indian firms | Mid-market | SMB to mid-market |
| Indian statutory payroll | Prove it in a demo | Partner payroll | Announced Aug 2021 | India payroll edition | Native PF/ESI/PT/TDS | Via Zoho Payroll |
| AI assistant and agents | Joule plus agents | Illuminate agents | Role-based agents | Sense, Super Agent | Not listed | Not listed |
| Integrations | SAP ERP, Microsoft 365 | Payroll Connect | Fusion family | Ask for the list | Mostly internal | Zoho suite |
| India data storage | Announced Oct 2023 | AWS India, 2026 | Mumbai region | Ask in the contract | Not stated | Not stated |
| Implementation and support | SAP India and partners | Partner-led | Oracle or integrators | Ask for the plan | Local, about six weeks | Self-serve start |
| Lock-in and exit | SAP-centred | One data model | Fusion-centred | Whole-suite record | HR-only estate | Tied by the bundle |
| Best fit | SAP-run multinationals | Global, non-SAP firms | Oracle ERP estates | Large Indian employers | Indian mid-market | Zoho-run SMBs |
Honest fit signals — because the fastest way to lose your trust is to pretend one product wins every scenario.
TechBag has no HR software guide yet, so SAP SuccessFactors sits outside the category guides. Browse all products to compare it with the rest of the catalogue. →
Drag the sliders (employees; HR-team hour cost). Estimates model HR-team time spent re-keying each employee’s changes between separate HR, payroll and talent tools at an assumed 1.5 hours per employee a year, with 70% of it removed by one Employee Central record feeding every module. Both figures are assumptions. Illustrative.
Loaded cost = salary + overheads per productive hour. Illustrative only — your TechBag quote models your actual environment and modules.
Not published here: SAP prices every SuccessFactors module as its own subscription and quotes it, so no SAP figure is printed on this page. TechBag maps your HR problems to the fewest modules, then itemises SAP’s quote module by module in INR with GST.
Best for one global HR record
Best for a broader rollout
Best for payroll, hiring and talent
Whatever the list prices above, TechBag negotiates a significantly better deal — with GST-compliant INR invoicing and local support. Ask us for your discounted quote.
Tell us your requirements and current tools — we’ll model it against what you spend today.
Take this into your next vendor call — including ours.
Will Employee Central replace your HR master or sit beside it? Every other module expects it to be the record.
Which modules do you need in year one — Payroll, Recruiting, Learning, Performance & Goals — and which can wait?
Has Employee Central Payroll been shown running PF, ESI, state PT and TDS on your own salary structures?
Are you near the 1,000-employee size SAP targets for its payroll, or would an India-first HRMS fit better?
Is India hosting written into the contract, given SAP’s October 2023 announcement for SuccessFactors?
Does finance run on SAP Cloud ERP or SAP Cloud ERP Private, so HR data reaches it without a custom interface?
Which Joule and agent features does your licence include, and does the demo rely on Microsoft 365 Copilot?
Does the quote list each module, user count and term on its own line? Ask for INR with GST and the renewal uplift.
Model the HR-team hours a single employee record would save, or let a TechBag advisor map your HR problems to the fewest SuccessFactors modules.
Stats, ratings, review counts and pricing are illustrative and sourced from public materials; verify before purchase.